Jimmy Devane Memorial Autocross 12th Aug 2018 – Report & Pics.

KDMC Report: Jimmy Devane Memorial Autocross 2018 – 12th August

 Killarney & District Motor Club held the Jimmy Devane Memorial Autocross event last Sunday 12th August. The action took place at Ballybeggan Racecourse Tralee, with over 50 competitors from all over the country taking part and driving a wide variety of cars and special buggies on the day. The event was proudly sponsored by Rentokil Initial Ireland and was marked as round seven of the Munster Autocross Championship. The weather held off and we had a great day’s racing. The track measured 2.2Km in length, was very technical, fast, with some tight chicanes and required some precision driving set out by Clerk of the Course Tommy Daly. The Event was run in conjunction with Kerry Motor Club and all proceeds going to the Costello Family Fund.

There was some fierce competition amongst the top local drivers Charles O’Neill & David Fleming both in Honda Civic’s from Killarney, John Hickey from Barraduff in his Suzuki built Special Buggy and Tommy Daly in his Semog Buggy from Kilcummin all fighting for overall honours and the Jimmy Devane memorial Cup. Laois man Anthony Culleton was the early leader in his Semog 600 Special. On the fourth run last year’s winner Pat O’Driscoll from Clonakility Co.Cork pulled out all the stops, setting a scintillating time and narrowly taking the win by less than a second. Tommy Daly was the top local driver and took home the Best KDMC Award. The Fastest Novice was John O’Flaherty in his newly purchased Semog buggy. The Best Saloon car was driven by Paul McCann from Dublin in his Ford Escort Cosworth, while Michelle Galwey captured the ladies award in her Ford KA. Jimmy’s Son David Devane was on hand to present the awards at the prize giving. The club also made a special presentation to the event secretary Norma Lucey for her outstanding work. A Special Thanks to all Marshals, Officials, Competitors & Everyone involved, a great enjoyable day of motorsport.


Class 1 Gary Lordan – Honda Civic

Class 2 George Shinnors – Vauxhall Nova

Class 3 David Fleming – Honda Civic

Class 4 Mike O’Connor Snr – Honda Integra

Class 5 Paul McCann – Escort Cosworth

Class 6 Derek Deane – Semog 750

Class 9 Mossie Costello – Nissan Micra

Class 10 Stevey Lane – Semog Buggy




1st Ladies Michelle Galwey – Ford Ka

1st Junior John O’Flaherty – Semog 600

1st Saloon Paul McCann – Escort Cosworth

1st KDMC Tommy Daly – Semog Buggy

1st Special Anthony Culleton – Semog Buggy

1st Overall Pat O’Driscoll – Semog Buggy